What is PIM?

"PIM" means Product Information Management. A PIM system manages the product information used for all kinds of sales and marketing channels and other departments inside and outside the organization, such as website, webshop, print media, ERP system, trading partners, ...

1. PIM in the age of digital commerce

The age of industry 4.0 and the digital revolution bring new challenges for both retailers and manufacturers of products. New products need to be present simultaneously in all channels (website, online shop, sales platforms such as Amazon, Alibaba, Ebay, trading partners).

For this purpose, the central maintenance of product information is needed: digital product information management.

2. Ahead through efficiency

Central product information management helps you to increase your sales potential and at the same time reduce costs through process optimization. Maintain your product information in a cross-industry standard – centrally in one system.

Several departments are involved in the creation and refinement of your data? No problem - Work out the individual components of your catalogs, such as product features and marketing texts, in different catalog instances and easily merge the changes into a final assortment.

PIM for manufacturer

With a PIM system you supply all "stakeholders" with up-to-date information, export customer-specific assortments in exactly the data structure that your trading partners need. Provide new dealers with up-to-date information immediately. Without double work you have more time for your core business.

More about PIM for manufacturers

PIM for dealers

You receive the assortments of your suppliers in different file formats and data structures? - In your PIM, they are mapped and refined in a standardized way.

More about PIM for dealers

3. What is BMEcat?

The BMEcat standard was developed jointly by the Fraunhofer Institute and the industry in order to transfer product information loss-free between companies. Product ranges in the BMEcat format display all information, additional texts, features and also the assignment of associated media (images, videos, data sheets, etc.) in an XML file. The provision of product data in the proven industry standard “BMEcat“ enables maximum responsiveness to all data requirements of your trading partners.

The PIM system serves as an interface to other formats. The standardized data can for example be exported directly in the form of Excel files.

More about BMEcat

4. What is a target system?

Target systems are all those programs, platforms and partners that process or even display your data. This includes both internal and external systems, such as merchandise management systems (MMS), online shop systems (e.g. shopware, WooCommerce), sales and procurement platforms (Amazon, Alibaba, Mercateo), or also creationing software for print catalogs, flyers or advertising displays for retail businesses.

5. Summary

PIM stands for central Product Information Management. With the support of the right PIM system, your product data is clearly managed at a central location and is always up-to-date and available to all partners in the desired (file) format. Without double work you have more time for your core business. Where product data is prepared at different locations today, working time can be saved tomorrow.

With the right PIM system, you can strengthen your competitive advantage in the age of cloud software.


lindig.shop

New Opportunities:

"By centralizing data maintenance in a standardized system, we can provide our partners with customized assortments at the click of a mouse - exactly as our partners need them."

Sven Lindig
CEO, LINDIG Fördertechnik GmbH

Here you can read how Lindig Fördertechnik GmbH has centralized product data maintenance in a future-proof manner and even opened up a new business segment with the help of Master PIM. In the online shop your customers will always find the latest information – directly from Master PIM of course.

How PIM works at LINDIG

LINDIG Online Shop

lindig.shop

Produktdatenpflege in Master PIM

With us you are in good company.

These companies have already optimized their product information with Master PIM.

  • SUND Holding
  • Deiss
  • Katimex Cielker GmbH
  • Alfred Horn GmbH
  • Kathrein
  • Bingold
  • Heinz Hesse KG
  • Wille GmbH
  • Edgar Borrmann GmbH & Co. KG
  • Lindig Fördertechnik GmbH
  • Funke
  • ASW GmbH & Co. KG
  • ASW GmbH & Co. KG
  • OTDV.de

Start now with Master PIM.

We provide a ready-to-use PIM system for centralized management of product data for companies. Would you like to learn more about product information management? We would be happy to advise you in a free conversation.

Contact

PIM-Integration Step by Step

Download the free E-book and become a PIM expert! (German E-Book)

To the download

Free E-Book

PIM Schritt für Schritt.

Newsletter

Always stay up to date. With our newsletter you will always receive the latest information about Master PIM.

✔ Product Information
✔ Company News
✔ Tips und Tricks

Subscribe now!

Was ist ein PIM?

"PIM" steht für Produkt-Informations-Management. Ein PIM-System ist das neue Zentrum für Ihren digitalen Außendienst.

1. PIM im Zeitalter des digitalen Handels

Das Zeitalter der Industrie 4.0 und die digitale Revolution bringen sowohl für Händler als auch Hersteller von Produkten neue Herausforderungen mit sich. Neue Produkte sollen möglichst sofort auf der eigenen Website, im Online-Shop, auf Verkaufsplattformen (Amazon, Alibaba, Ebay) und bei Handelspartnern platziert werden.

Zu diesem Zweck ist die zentrale Pflege von Produktinformationen unerlässlich: das digitale Produkt-Informations-Management.

2. Vorsprung durch Effizienz

Zentrales Produkt-Informations-Management hilft Ihnen, Ihr Umsatzpotenzial zu steigern und gleichzeitig durch Prozessoptimierung Kosten zu senken. Pflegen Sie Ihre Produktinformationen in einem branchenübergreifenden Standard – zentral in einem System.

Mehrere Abteilungen sind an der Erstellung und Veredelung Ihrer Daten beteiligt? Kein Problem – Erarbeiten Sie die einzelnen Bestandteile Ihrer Kataloge, wie etwa Produktmerkmale und Marketingtexte, in verschiedenen Katalog-Instanzen und führen Sie die Änderungen unkompliziert in einem finalen Sortiment zusammen.

PIM für Hersteller

Mit einem PIM-System versorgen Sie sämtliche „Stakeholder“ mit aktuellen Informationen, Exportieren Sie kundenindividuelle Sortimente in genau der Datenstruktur, wie sie Ihre Handelspartner benötigen. Versorgen Sie neue Händler sofort mit aktuellen Informationen. Ohne Doppelarbeit haben Sie mehr Zeit für Ihr Kerngeschäft.

PIM für Händler

Sie erhalten die Sortimente Ihrer Lieferanten in unterschiedlichen Dateiformaten und Datenstrukturen? – In Ihrem PIM werden sie standardisiert abgebildet und veredelt.

3. Was ist BMEcat?

Der BMEcat-Standard wurde gemeinsam vom Fraunhofer Institut und der Industrie entwickelt, um Produktinformationen verlustfrei zwischen Unternehmen zu übertragen. Produktsortimente im BMEcat-Format bilden sämtliche Informationen, Zusatztexte, Merkmale und auch die Zuweisung dazugehöriger Medien (Bilder, Videos, Datenblätter, etc.) in einer XML-Datei ab. Die Bereitstellung von Produktdaten im bewährten Industriestandard BMEcat ermöglicht eine maximale Reaktionsfähigkeit auf sämtliche Datenbedarfe Ihrer Handelspartner.

Das PIM-System dient dabei als Schnittstelle zu anderen Formaten. Die standardisiert aufbereiteten Daten lassen sich somit beispielsweise direkt in Form von Excel-Dateien exportieren.

4. Was ist ein Zielsystem?

Als Zielsystem werden all jene Programme, Plattformen und Partner bezeichnet, die Ihre Daten verarbeiten oder auch nur darstellen. Dies umfasst sowohl interne als auch externe Systeme, wie beispielsweise Warenwirtschaftssysteme (ERP), Online Shop Systeme (z.B. Shopware, WooCommerce), Verkaufs- und Beschaffungsplattformen (Amazon, Alibaba, Mercateo), oder auch Erstellungs-Software für Print-Kataloge, Flyer oder Werbeaufsteller für den stationären Handel.

5. Zusammenfassung

PIM steht für zentrales Produkt-Informations-Management. Mithilfe des richtigen PIM-Systems werden Ihre Produktdaten übersichtlich an einem zentralen Ort verwaltet und stehen allen Partnern immer aktuell und im gewünschten (Datei-)Format zur Verfügung. Ohne Doppelarbeit haben Sie mehr Zeit für Ihr Kerngeschäft. Wo heute noch an unterschiedlichsten Orten die Produktdaten vorbereitet werden, lässt sich morgen Arbeitszeit einsparen.

Mit dem richtigen PIM-System stärken Sie Ihren Wettbewerbsvorteil im Cloud-Zeitalter.

Sofort loslegen mit masterPIM.

Mit masterPIM bieten wir eine sofort einsatzbereite PIM-Lösung für alle Unternehmen, die Ihre Produktinformationen zentral verwalten möchten.
Möchten Sie mehr über PIM erfahren? Wir beraten Sie gern in einem kostenlosen Gespräch.

Zum Kontaktformular

Newsletter

Bleiben Sie immer Up-to-date. Mit unserem Newsletter erhalten Sie stehts die aktuellsten Informationen zu masterPIM.

Jetzt eintragen!